In 2000, the Lotus LMP team debuted in motorsport competing in Formula 3. Just one year later, the crew, with driver Pierre Kaffer at the wheel, celebrated four race wins and fought for the championship title. Further successful seasons in this series followed with the additional manufacturer support. Talented young F1 drivers such as Vitantonio Liuzzi, Adrian Sutil and Sakon Yamamoto and DTM racer Jamie Green are good examples of drivers who were supported by the team.

In 2006, the team competed in the German Touring Car Series (DTM) for the first time with two Audi A4 cars under the name of Futurecom-TME. In our debut season Jeroen Bleekemolen and Nicolas Kiesa, the five-time Formula 1 Grand Prix driver, were at the wheel of the Audi A4 DTM. In following years Adam Carroll, Markus Winkelhock, Christian Bakkerud and former Formula 1 driver Christijan Albers took a seat in the TME cockpit alongside Vanina Ickx and Katherine Legge did. The cooperation with Audi grew and the team concentrated its efforts in the touring car and sports car sectors.

In 2009, the team added the Le Mans Series (LMS) to the calendar in which two Audi R10 TDI ran. It was a successful debut season with the team placing fourth in the Constructor’s Championship with drivers Christijan Albers, Christian Bakkerud, Andrew Meyrick, Giorgio Mondini, Narain Karthikeyan and Charles Zwolsman all taking their turns behind the wheel.

In June 2009, the German-based team participated in the prestigious 24 Hours of Le Mans for the very first time, finishing the race in seventh and ninth positions respectively. Unfortunately one year later, both cars had to retire just before the end of the race which would have otherwise seen the cars place in promising positions. Two hours before the chequered flag dropped, drivers Christijan Albers, Oliver Jarvis and Christian Bakkerud were eight laps ahead of their competitor who finished the race in fourth position.

At the premiere of the Asian Le Mans Series in Okayama in 2009, drivers Christian Bakkerud and the British Audi factory driver Oliver Jarvis succeeded in finishing in third position and proudly took their places on the podium.

The individual members of the Lotus LMP team bring with them a wealth of experience and knowledge from successful participation in F1, DTM and other Formula series as well as from a variety of sports cars and GT race series. With this impressive racing pedigree, the team managed the impossible in Spring 2010 and established Hispania Racing, HRT F1 Team with a preparation time of just three weeks. Miraculously, the team made its debut at the opening Grand Prix and went on to surprise experts and fans with spirit and success. 

Whilst one part of the crew participated in the Canadian Formula One Grand Prix in June 2010, the other part was in France to race at the legendary 24 Hours of Le Mans that took place at the same weekend as the race in Montréal.

In 2012, the Lotus LMP Team successfully completed the first full season of the FIA World Endurance Championship (WEC), including the legendary 24 Hours of Le Mans. The team was a serious competitor in its category with help from former Formula One drivers like James Rossiter, Vitantonio Liuzzi and Christijan Albers. The team took pole position for the 6 Hours of Shanghai, this represented major success for the crew. During the 2012 season, Thomas Holzer, Kevin Weeda, Mirco Schultis, Luca Moro, Renger van der Zande and Jan Charouz were also called into action for the team.

In 2013, the Lotus LMP team successfully competed in the FIA WEC with the two brand new Lotus T128s using all the experience gained from previous years with a strong car package and driver line-up.

For 2014 Lotus LMP have a completely new car as we make the step up to the LMP1 class, the whole team is working incredibly hard to ensure that we have the most competitive package possible and we’re very much looking forward to the season ahead.